As has been widely reported, since legalizing medicinal marijuana, Massachusetts has also legalized recreational marijuana, with personal possession no longer a crime, and retail sales planned for July 2018. Our sister site, CapeCannabis.com, will attempt to follow that market.
Before decriminalization, people charged will possession of small amounts of marijuana in Massachusetts would face up to 6 months in jail and a $500 fine.
Medical Marijuana in Massachusetts. Medicinal use of marijuana became legal in Massachusetts under “AN ACT FOR THE HUMANITARIAN MEDICAL USE OF MARIJUANA”.This law became effective January 1, 2013. (View Law).
Marijuana in Massachusetts. On Nov 4, 2008 Mass voters passed a ballot that decriminalized the possession of small amounts of marijuana. The “Massachusetts Sensible Marijuana Policy Initiative” law made the possession of less than one ounce of marijuana punishable by a fine of $100 without the possessor being reported to the state’s criminal history board. Additionally, Minors also had to notify their parents, take a drug awareness program, and complete 10 hours of community service.
Purpose and Intent. The citizens of Massachusetts intend that there should be no punishment under state law for qualifying patients, physicians and health care professionals, personal caregivers for patients, or medical marijuana treatment center agents for the medical use of marijuana.
Medical Marijuana in The Cape Cod & Islands Area.
April 2018 -
October 2018 -